LARC Annual Meeting and Author Talk by Julia Dahl

Thursday, June 13, 2024 at 10am, New City Library

Agenda Items include:

2024 LARC Budget

Presentation of Board Slate

Proposed Revisions to By-laws

Presentation of LARC Scholarships

Author Talk by Julia Dahl will follow the business meeting.

Bring cash for raffle tickets!

RSVP to President at no later than Friday, June 7.

Book of the Year 2020

LARC Book of the Year Award 2020 is Open for Submission

Click here to download the application. 

Are you a Rockland resident who has published or self-published a book (Childrens, YA, or Adult)  in the last five years? Then you may be eligible for  the LARC Book of the Year Award! Your book will be read by a panel of judges. One work will be selected to win a cash prize and 17 copies of the winning book will be purchased and distributed to Rockland libraries.  

We are looking for authors that: 

-Have published a book between 6/1/14 and 7/1/20. 

-Lived in Rockland County at the time of the book’s publication. 

-Can provide either two physical copies of the book or a DRM-free electronic copy. 


Scholarships Awarded at 2019 Annual Meeting

Each year, the Library Association of Rockland County awards scholarships to individuals who are pursuing their library science degree.  This year, LARC is pleased to congratulate the following scholarship recipients:

LARC Scholarships:  Briyantan Ganaganayagam and Bethany Savino

Mary Patricia Brunsman Scholarship Memorial Award:  Samantha Sambrato

Rockland Teens Celebrated at SCRAWL 2019 Launch Party

On May 2, 2019, the Teen Division of LARC hosted at launch party at the Pearl River Public Library for Scrawl 2019: Rockland Teens Write.  2019 marks the the fourth edition of this unique publication in which the creativity of Rockland County teens is showcased.  At the launch party, each of the 51 published teens was presented with a copy of the book and were able to meet two of the this year's guest editors: JG Faherty and Dan Waters.

It takes a committee of dedicated librarians the better part of a year to collect and review submissions, secure guest editors, layout and publish an issue of SCRAWL.   The 2019 committee was Emily Dowie, Joanna Goldfarb, Jessica Gordon, Patrice Gottfried, Mary Phillips, and Ruth Vandervanter. 

Click on this link to learn more about the 2019 edition of ScrawlScrawl on Goodreads

LARC Youth Services Division receives Dynamic Group Award!

April is the "Month of the Young Child," and in celebration Child Care Resources of Rockland, Inc. proudly recognizes those who have demonstrated a commitment to improving the lives of young children by annually bestowing its Children's Champions Awards.  We are proud to announce that their 2019 Dynamic Group Award has been awarded to the LARC Youth Services Division!  

"In recognizing the dedication and the accomplishments of our partners and providers, we acknowledge their impact on our children, their families, and their future," said CCRR Executive Director Vicki Caramante.  "The dedicated professionals  being honored this year have and will continue to mold, shape, and impact the lives of generations of children, providing them with a strong foundation of love, nurturing, and learning."

The CCRR had these words to say about LARC's Youth Services Division:

"The Library Association of Rockland County's Youth Services Division are literacy advocates, teachers, and philanthropists.  In managing library programs for children birth-12, they research and select books and other materials for acquisition then plan and conduct programs for children of varying ages and abilities.  The librarians meet regularly to share experiences and updates as a way to support one another in their mutual commitment to better serve Rockland's diverse community.  Advocacy efforts to ignite the joy of reading reach beyond the libraries walls: the librarians participate in community service activities, such as the Nyack Halloween Parade and book drives to support organizations such as People to People, Rockland Jewish Family Service, and the Center for Safety and Change."

All of the 2019 award recipients will be honored on Wednesday, April 10th at the Nyack Seaport, 21 Burd Street, Nyack, NY.  The award ceremony will begin promptly at 5:45 p.m and is free to attend.  There will be dinner and dancing following the ceremony at 7 p.m. at the Nyack Seaport.  Please click here  for more information or to purchase tickets for the dinner and dancing.